FSU

Fredonia's Sustainable University

Outdoor Education: Choosing the right program April 21, 2010

Filed under: Education — profsmcgee @ 8:27 pm
Tags: , , ,

Brian Dolan

Outdoor education is a relatively new form of education and it has caught on quite rapidly here in the United States. This is important because we are in a world that has us growing further and further away from nature. I think that youth need to be brought back into the reality of our environment. We are very much still a part of the natural environment.

I had my outdoor education experience this past fall when I went on a NOLS course to New Zealand. The experience changed my life. I was relying on myself and others to survive in the wilderness for 75 days. I was challenged beyond what I ever thought I could achieve and the learning environment really put the lessons in perspective. I have so many stories about the good and bad times I had and I would not change anything that happened on that trip.

This is why I feel it is important for students to have access to the different types of programs available. There are so many options for outdoor education you need only explore your resources to find the right one for you.

Projects:

Oe Web page

pamphlet

Links:

NOLS

BUOE

Outward Bound

Wilderdom

Fredonia College Lodge

 

Leave a Reply

